Look for our Worry-Free Fare at the gluten free station in Fountain, Case, and Clark dining halls.
University Dining is now offering vanilla and chocolate soy milk, gluten free breads and bagels and gluten free cereal. Students with celiac will have access to a toaster dedicated to gluten free bread only.
To find more gluten-free options in the dining hall, check the nutrition and allergy chart or check the i-pad and allergen board located in each dining hall.
Gluten-Free: Check out our Worry Free Fare! We have gluten-free bread and cereal for your convenience. You can put our gluten free burgers on the bread provided, just bring a slice to the grill. Also, check out our gluten-free soup!
Peanut and Other Nut Allergies: Please check the iPad before eating at the dining hall. We do have items that contain nuts, so be wary of your choices. You need to be very careful with the desserts. They are produced in a kitchen that uses nuts and peanuts.
Dairy Allergy: We offer soy milk in the worry free station. Check the iPad for menu choices without dairy.
Vegetarians: We offer several vegetarian options on our menu. If there is no menu item to your liking, load up a salad or sandwich with hummus and veggies for a healthy and satisfying meal! Try our freshly ground peanut butter and add a banana or apple for a healthy sandwich. Check out our whole wheat grilled cheese offered every day. We always offer a vegetarian burger or veggie nugget, too!
Vegans: Yes, there are options for you! We have menu items labeled with our “Vegan” caption on our website. We offer vegan items ranging from Mushroom Stroganoff to Five Bean Bake. We occasionally offer a Vegan soup choice, just check the menu!
Common Food Allergens and Intolerances
The following are common allergies. Click on the images below to learn more about them.
|Fish and Shellfish||Nuts/Peanuts||Dairy|
What to do if you have an allergy or intolerance:
If you feel you are suffering from a food allergy or intolerance, please contact our registered dietitian, Lisa Eberhart, for an individual meeting. To make an appointment, call 919.513.5310, or email at lisa_eberhart [at] ncsu [dot] edu.
We mark items that contain gluten, nuts and tree nuts, seafood, eggs, dairy. We do not mark foods that contain soy, because almost all of our prepared foods contain some form of soy. If you have a soy allergy, please make an appointment with our dietitian.
It is our goal to provide you with information and assistance to manage your food allergies and intolerances. You can do your part by always doing the following:
- Use common sense
- Seek information about recipes/ingredients
- Read food labels
- Direct any questions to the supervisor or manager when considering food choices in the dining halls
- When in doubt, avoid the food altogether
- Make an appointment with our registered dietitian, lisa_eberhart [at] ncsu [dot] edu